Identifying VIN engine

Identifaction of VIN, case numbers and cylinder heads
ozpan

Identifying VIN engine

Post by ozpan »

Can anyone tell me what this weird mating is, and what the numbers denote

Hello, I'm new here but have already got a lot of information from the forum. But I need some help identifying my engine: my bike's registered as a '55, but has an aftermarket left side alternator case, numbered 55FLH4008, with the belly number 173-2686. There are no makers' marks or logos, just an 'H' behind the rear cylinder. The right side case is numbered 155-1166. Can anyone tell me what this weird mating is, and what the numbers denote? Any ideas who the manufacturer of the left hand case could be? Thanks!

fourthgear

Re: Identifying engine

Post by fourthgear »

ozpan
I am no expert in this , but it looks like it is a renumbered 1973 left case and a 1955 right case . Not absolutely sure and am surprised that others here that do, some what of which they speak haven't answered this . I could be wrong ,but I do know they didn't make alt. cases in 55. Could be after market . Are your numbers in a number boss on the left case? Because I think in 73 stock HD's did not have a boss on them like Panheads do. I think it changed in 70 with the cone type Shovels.

caschnd1
Bikes: 1949 FL Chopper

Post by caschnd1 »

The belly number tells what year the case was machined. 173-xxxx indicates this was a 74" case (the first digit) machined in 1973 (the second and third digits). The xxxx portion is just a sequential number that would have matched the other half of the case. Perhaps the left side case on your motor was damaged and replaced with this repair case. This case would have come with a blank number boss and the repair shop (or Harley-Davidson?) would have restamped the new case with your old 55FLxxxx number.

Well... that's one way it could have gone down. No way to know for sure.

-Craig

ozpan

Post by ozpan »