Won't stand up and run

Post Reply
woodie47

Won't stand up and run

#1

Post by woodie47 » Tue Nov 01, 2005 7:20 am

Description: Soon as you stand it up to ride starts missing and dies

49 Pan with a S&S carb, stock circut breaker. Starts and runs on the kick stand but soon as you stand it up to ride starts missing and dies. Any ideas?



caschnd1
Posts: 606
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 3:45 pm
Bikes: 1949 FL Chopper
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Won't stand up and run

#2

Post by caschnd1 » Tue Nov 01, 2005 7:33 am

I'm not very familiar with S&S carbs but is it possible that the float is out of adjustment?

-Craig

Sidecar
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 9:21 pm
Location: Southwestern, Pa.
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Won't stand up and run

#3

Post by Sidecar » Tue Nov 01, 2005 7:08 pm

This may be a stupid question, but are the tank/s full of gas ?

Ding
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 7:22 pm
Location: So Cal
Contact:

Re: Won't stand up and run

#4

Post by Ding » Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:57 pm

Woodie,

What S&S Carb...B, E, G, L? I think your float is out of adjustment OR you have an electical short. Not a total ground out but just enough to arc and cause the sputtering.

I run an E on my 86"er. S&S carbs are great and I have an idea that they run so well on Pans because they are basically a GIANT linkert. With that, even at 86 inches, Sifton 440 Crusader Cam, and a Morris Mag, I have mine jetted way down (70/.028). She will still flood in a second but is burning right. Just gotta be carefull because an S&S is almost more carb than a pan can handle.

Ding

woodie47

Re: Won't stand up and run

#5

Post by woodie47 » Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:24 pm

I just rebuilt the carb and set the float to the spec. in the owners manual , so I dont think that its the float level. Gas poured out of the overflow sometimes before I rebuilt it. Now no gas from the overflow but the same problem. Tanks are full, and I checked to see that gas is flowing in the standing position. I cant see what elec. could change with position. Keep gu7essin. Thanks

Kuda
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 5:41 pm
Location: Maryland
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Won't stand up and run

#6

Post by Kuda » Tue Nov 08, 2005 7:51 pm

Gotta be electrical if it's that quick, vacuum/flow problems would take a while to show up. I'd say check the ignition wires, plug wires, heck, even the ignition switch wires. Something's GOT to be loose...

-Kuda

mbskeam
Posts: 1004
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 5:52 am
Location: Sultan, WASH
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Won't stand up and run

#7

Post by mbskeam » Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:04 am

hello,
is your ground wire at the batt. okay?
if you think it elect, pull the dash and meter out the switch with it on the stand and then not on the stand, maybe if you have a bad wire you will find it this way....but don't hold your breath. elect problems can be a pain to find some times.

are you sure it ain't the carb?

the last thing to look at might be the dist. at the point at which the wire hooks up to the body and goes thru the dist to the points. it might be grounding out here.
my wire was worn thru from the dist moving back and forth (ret, adv.) put on a piece of heat shrink tube to fix and put it back together..

good hunting........

mbskeam




you can have it all...........my empire of dirt

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”