Create your own blog: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=17487

Can't start it hot

Howard

Can't start it hot

Post by Howard » Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:45 pm

Hi, I'm new to this hobby and recently bought a 46 WL 45. I can kick start it just fine when it's cold--but after it's ran and warmed up-- > I can't. I don't feel any compression to kick against after it's warmed up and off. It just easily kicks or rolls over (but doesn't start). Is this just the nature of the beast or is something wrong? Thanks, Howard

oldironman
Bikes: 58 Pan, 66 FLH

Re: Can't start it hot

Post by oldironman » Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:52 am

Hi Howad,
when you kick it is the motor turning over? It may be the clutch is slipping when hot..

Cotten

Post by Cotten » Tue Oct 18, 2005 5:07 pm

When things get hot, they get bigger. Even holes get bigger.
Those of you who aren't thinking dirty know I am talking about vacuum leaks, but this also applies to your bore and ring gaps, and valve lash. They control your compression.
If your valve adjustment is too tight, then expansion can take up all clearance and keep valves open until it cools again.
First, you must certain that your manifold is sealed, try this simple test: http://virtualindian.org/11techleaktest.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
No other test tells you where or how much of a problem there might be. If it is truly sealed, then just a few clicks of the lowspeed needle should make starting consistant.
Eliminateing the heat of a vacuum leak may well eliminate a valve lash interference as well.
Once that variable is crossed-off, you should re-check your valve clearances as well. of course.

HOWARD

Post by HOWARD » Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:53 pm

Oldironman--Yes, i do think the clutch is working fine (not positive) as it allows the bike to start normally when it's cool. But, after the engine has warmed up and stopped I don't feel any resistance of compression to kick against (and can move the pedal by hand) untill it cools off again.