Create your own blog: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=17487

Gas overflow

Post Reply
daveyb
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:01 pm

Gas overflow

#1

Post by daveyb » Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:21 pm

Has anybody had this happen?;
i filled up with gas the other night and when i kicked the bike over, it started right up and then proceeded to dump large amounts of gas out of the right tank through the cap. bike stalled. i cleaned it all up and kicked 'er again. started right up and i rode home. nobody i've talked to has ever heard of this. the only thing i can think of is maybe the cross-over got clogged for a minute, vented cap not venting? vapor lock? clogged filter? . has anyone been through this and found a cause? i would sure like it if this didn't happen again! kind of messy.



fourthgear
Posts: 1390
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 1:12 pm
Location: north florida

Re: Gas overflow

#2

Post by fourthgear » Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:22 pm

What was the temp. out side ? You can put cold gas in a warm tank and it can expand very quickly and blow out the cap relief valve. I have seen it happen when they pull the bike upright after starting.

Cotten
Posts: 6911
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 9:09 am
Location: Central Illinois

Re: Gas overflow

#3

Post by Cotten » Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Beware also of reproduction gas caps that look like Eaton's, but vent deep within the cap instead of properly out upon the edge.

Modern fuels swell the rubber seals until they block the vents. Thus pressure in one tank can blow out the cap on the other.

(I lost a very expensive paint job to a pair of Tedd's caps because of this!)


....Cotten

64duo
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed May 11, 2005 4:07 am
Bikes: 2001 Road King w/sidecar
1947 Servi-car
Location: Redmond, OR

Re: Gas overflow

#4

Post by 64duo » Tue Dec 26, 2006 4:16 pm

Cotton,
can you post pictures of both repop & original caps to clarify that difference?
64duo

panhead
Site Admin
Posts: 2523
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2001 9:17 pm
Bikes: 1954 FL
Location: Holland

Re: Gas overflow

#5

Post by panhead » Thu Dec 28, 2006 7:07 am

Eaton cap.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Cotten
Posts: 6911
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 9:09 am
Location: Central Illinois

Re: Gas overflow

#6

Post by Cotten » Thu Dec 28, 2006 1:03 pm

Thanks Mr. P!

The arrows point to the vents; On the left is an original Eaton (Trade mark in inset) with four creases that open below the gasket. On the right is one of the reproductions with vents above the gasket.

When the rubber gasket swells from a digestive fuel, it blocks the vents, allowing pressure to build. This is not only damaging to paint, it is a very real fire hazard.

My only solution is to trim the gasket after it has swollen.

...Cotten

DuoDave
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:45 pm

Re: Gas overflow

#7

Post by DuoDave » Thu Dec 28, 2006 1:40 pm

I have repop gas caps on my bike, but the vents are like the original Eaton cap in the photo. My problem is that if I fill the tanks right up, I get gas dribbling out of the vents as I ride over bumps and the gas splashes up onto the inside of the cap. The solution is simple, don't put so much gas in the tank. It is irritating that I can't use the full capacity of the tanks though. Did this happen with the original Eaton caps?

Skip
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 11:18 pm
Bikes: 48 pan
81 shovel
01 softail std
04 heritage
08 roadking
72 ct70
Location: WV

Re: Gas overflow

#8

Post by Skip » Thu Dec 28, 2006 3:48 pm

DuoDave: Mine do the same thing...thought my tanks were leaking at the neck and had them lined, only to find out it is the damn caps...really pisses me off too, because I didn't notice until after I got my first "nice paint" job...sorry no help, misery loves company kind of thing......I do what you do...don't fill quite so full...Skip

daveyb
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2007 9:01 pm

Re: Gas overflow

#9

Post by daveyb » Thu Dec 28, 2006 8:34 pm

i don't think it was my cap. i found a lot of crud in the tank including large pieces of what may have been a wasp nest. these tanks were dirty when i got 'em and i spent quite a bit of time cleaning them, pressure testing, etc. obviously not enough! i think the bottom cross-over got blocked. i got the tanks off and now i'll clean them again, this time much more thoroughly.

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”