rebuilt motor wont fire!!!!

All other topics
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
54panman

rebuilt motor wont fire!!!!

Post by 54panman » Sun Sep 16, 2007 2:28 am

hi to everyone just want to say this is the pan forums i'v seen!!! im a newbie to both this forum and panheads.

so heres the deal i bought a 1954 74c.i. pan that was just rebuilt (motor)(std case, jim's connecting/crank rods, super e, mallory dist, 3" open primary) i would assume the shop that did it ran it!!! but can say for sure

i went through and tightened all the hardware check it over really good and filled it with 50w oil and 80/90 in the tranny... check all the wiring and fuel set up.... let set over night for the oil to drian down in the motor good.

kick it over a ton just to prime the system, then set it all up to run after kicking the crap out of it nothing more than a few back fires!!!

worst of all it seems like something might be scrapeing alittle in the head or case on every other rationtion!!!! im get really urrrrrrrrrrrr anyone have any ideas or live in the bay area (east bay) thanks

Cotten

Post by Cotten » Sun Sep 16, 2007 1:39 pm

Probably an evil manifold leak, at least.

....Cotten

54panman

Post by 54panman » Sun Sep 16, 2007 3:20 pm

it got great compersion

Fixman

Post by Fixman » Sun Sep 16, 2007 6:36 pm

Do you have a good spark? Kick it over with the plugs out - holding a plug attached to the wire against the head and see if you get a nice fat spark. Do you have fuel? Can you flood it (wet plugs) by opening the throttle and kicking it over. Do you have a nice spark at the points (if it has points) when you kick it over? If all of the above is a OK, I would suspect timing.

Kent

Post by Guest » Sun Sep 16, 2007 8:33 pm