Words of advice: the best parts to look for

All other topics
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
quickie

Words of advice: the best parts to look for

Post by quickie » Fri Sep 09, 2005 5:35 am

Hello, I am new to panheads, and actually have not purchased one yet. My dream has been to build a nice pan bobber for about 20 years, and I am going to start this winter. I always loved the looks of the pan motor, and the sound of a pan with fishtails.

Anyway, I would like to know what when it comes to my dream bike.....

Here's what I have in mind, please let me know your thoughts and recommendations..
Pan engine (obviously), was thinking 56 - don't really know why, that year has be stuck in my head. rigid frame, wide glide front end with 21" wheel, spoked wheels front and rear, king queen seat with tall sissy bar, and upswept fishtail pipes.
also, anyone in Washington state that would be willing to get together and show me some stuff or just BS about bikes, let me know. I'm in Shelton, just north of Olympia on the olympic peninsula.
Thanks for your help!!!!

fourthgear

Re: Words of advice: the best parts to look for

Post by fourthgear » Fri Sep 09, 2005 1:35 pm

quickie
My first HD was a 56 , good year , had Timken bearings in lower end and compensating sprocket system on primary drive. Stronger system and sprocket shaft. Some thing to look into . Good luck putting her together. Now all ya have to do is find one.

panfreak
Panhead Register Member

Post by panfreak » Fri Sep 09, 2005 3:26 pm