Bike locks

All other topics
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
keys55

Bike locks

Post by keys55 » Mon Jul 04, 2005 10:03 pm

Hello, I am new to this site. I am a locksmith by trade for the last 17 years. I have a fair idea of locks and keys. {I know everybody has 2 sets, right}. If you have an old kryptonite lock, junk it. They had a commercial on TV of someone opening one with a bic pen. The new ones no longer take the tubular key. The article appeared in my trade magazines as well. There are better locks out there than those anyway. Ever wonder about your chain or cable? Bolt cutters are a given. Personally I consider the chain the weakest link in locking.
I forgot to mention that you can return the kryptonite lock for a new model. They said free of charge, and I bet they mean it. If they ever want to sell another lock they will. All part of damage control. I wonder how many bikes got stolen once it was advertised on TV how to do it? TV got its story and could probably care less, like a lot of the crap that passes as news nowadays.

dj

Re: Bike locks

Post by dj » Mon Jul 04, 2005 11:41 pm

First of all, I'd like to ask if you have Briggs & Stratton blanks for the Panhead fork lock? And would you be able to cut them if you were provided with a number?
I've been looking at the Master Lock Street Cuffs.......opinions? Looks like it would take a welder to cut thru it. Or a portable SawsAll? Good grief! That just occurred to me! Thieves could use something like that.

RJ

Post by RJ » Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:56 am

I have heard of crooks spraying I think freon or something like that & it supposed to crystalize the metal of the lock. hit it w/hammer said it would break like a china plate ?
Hard to imagine but has anyone heard anything like this ?

keys55

Post by keys55 » Tue Jul 05, 2005 8:08 am