Knuckle/pan identification

All other topics
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
fourthgear

Knuckle/pan identification

Post by fourthgear » Fri Oct 29, 2004 1:36 pm

I would like to pick you alls brainiacks on a pan I've got, it is serial numbered 47 FL, but after taking the bottom ends apart it has 48 cast into both halfs . I read some where that HD made a few Pans for the trade show in mid 47 could this one of those or just a knuck/pan? any ideas from any one ? I'm new to this chat room stuff , what I've been reading here , if anyone knows it will come from this format.

Cotten

Re: Knuckle/pan

Post by Cotten » Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:23 pm

Sorry, but I'd be more than a little suspicious, unless you can dig up bonafide researchable documentation from the Factory, and the VIN is a match.

There just wasn't any such thing as a knuckpan. The top end oiling and breather passages within the right cases are radically different, along with the cast-in cylinder drains and tappetguide holes. I think the cylinder deck heights are even different.

(The barroom mis-nomer of "panshovel" is irksome as well, but at least a chubble top end can be bolted on after the fact.)

I imagine the -48 number on the case halves that you refer to is the production number stamped on the belly.
Your VIN might still be legal, if it can be shown to be a Factory replacement, as many Dealerships were issued "open titles", a practice that is now illegal. But since a Pan doesn't fit into a knuck frame, that's a lot to swallow.

fourthgear

Post by fourthgear » Fri Oct 29, 2004 4:19 pm

Cotton