All other topics
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
TimmyV
Bikes: 1961 FLH
2017 FLHTKL

What's the secret to Hot starts ?

Post by TimmyV » Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:53 am

Only had my '61 Pan for a few weeks now & am just getting to know this ol gal. 3-4 prime kicks, then 1-2 kicks with key on & she fires right up. Seems to run good although once warmed up is very hard to start. New points & condenser, timing checked. S&S Super E carb adjusted correctly to the best of my knowledge. Good oil flow & return to the tank, 60 weight oil in tank, BTW. Not certain what else to check as I am new to Pans, but not new to motorcycles. Been wrenching on my own stuff for 33 years & can't get a handle on this hot starting. Best that I can tell, this motor was recently rebuilt prior to the previous owners death back in 2006, could it simply be a matter of everything still being tight & needing more break in ?

Any advice or tips to share ?

TIA,
TimmyV

steve_wood
Bikes: 56 FLH, 2007 FLHRCI

Re: What's the secret to Hot starts ?

Post by steve_wood » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:29 pm

Could be that the carb is loaded up with fuel. When you shut down, you kill the spark, but the engine is still turning and drawing in fuel, which just sits there. When you go to start it up, there's too much fuel in the intake manifold etc.

Try opening the throttle wide to clear it out when you try a hot start.

Bigincher
Bikes: 1941/59 EL
1952 FL
1977 FLH
1994 Fatboy

Post by Bigincher » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:45 pm

My S&S likes a dead closed throttle when starting hot. Don't even crack it a little, just retard the spark, bring up a compression stroke, turn the key on, and kick it through. This would be another way to try it along with the other suggestion.

steinauge
Bikes: 1938U,1949FL,1961FL,1968XL,1979FL ,1958 FL, 1965 BMW,1975 Honda CB750

Post by steinauge » Thu Aug 20, 2009 2:55 pm