Newbie with a question about my SU carb...

Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
Throttle Junkie
Bikes: 1964 Pan

Newbie with a question about my SU carb...

Post by Throttle Junkie » Tue May 18, 2010 6:03 pm

I recently had my 64 pan's top end done. I am a carb novice to say the least. Well my bike was running great then it died like it ran out of fuel. I can pump the tickler about 5-6 times, twist the throttle a few times and it will fire on the first or second kick. It proceeds to fire each cylinder once or twice then dies like it's not getting anymore fuel. I can see fuel when I pump the tickler but no other time. Is the carb plugged up somewhere? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Bosheff
Bikes: 65 FLH 82 FLH

Re: Newbie with a question about my SU carb...

Post by Bosheff » Tue May 18, 2010 8:43 pm

1st check the obvious. Got fuel? Is it gettin to the carb? Twisting the throttle when the engine is not running does not introduce fuel to the venturi as the S.U. doesn't have an accelerator pump. Make sure you have a very efficient fuel filter. No, 2 fuel filters are better as S.U.'s are known to turn to shit with only a few grains of dirt. I am on my way to work right now, but will post up the basics of the S.U. when I get home. Make sure yer not suckin air as the S.U. doesn't like that either. I realize these probably aren't directly attributed to yer fuel starvation problem, but ya need the preliminaries covered first. Pull the bottom off the carb being very careful not to spill the fuel it contains. Check for tiny grains of dirt in the bottom. What kind of air filter are you running. The stock foam type supplied by Rivera is junk. Will get back with ya later....bosheff

Throttle Junkie

Post by Throttle Junkie » Tue May 18, 2010 8:51 pm