Frame shop to go over a v-twin frame

j**r**m
Bikes: 55 panhead, 64 panhead, 07 springer classic

Frame shop to go over a v-twin frame

Post by j**r**m » Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:23 pm

Hi folks I recently acquired a never used 55-57 v-twin frame real cheap and was wanting to know of a good frame shop that can make sure everything is welded where it should be and aligned right and possibly weld the hardware on for the solo seat too. Any help is appreciated thanks

Scrap
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Bikes: 1957 FL
1980 FLT
74 FXE
2017 road glide
1971 Bonneville

Re: Frame shop to go over a v-twin frame

Post by Scrap » Sun Nov 18, 2012 6:09 pm

I'm no expert, but when I was at the HD dealer last month, a pick up truck pulled up carrying a shovel in an aftermarket frame, not sure who made it,...not stretched or raked....While he was riding, both front down tubes fractured about six inches below the welds! How he was able to bring it to a stop without getting off is beyond me. Did he torque the daylights out of something to make it fit? I have no idea, but it raised the hair on the back of neck thinking about aftermarket frames. I'm sure there are good ones, but has anyone seen this type of failure on a factory frame? Again, this did not fail at the joints, both tubes fractured at the same place, there were no cracks, no rust on the edge of the break, not a clean break, a jagged fracture as if you whacked an icicle on edge of something. Maybe it was made of cheap imported steel?

j**r**m

Post by j**r**m » Sun Nov 18, 2012 7:11 pm