fuses/circuit breakers

Electrical issues
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
Post Reply
itsRICH
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:55 am
Bikes: 1948 Panhead chopper kit bike
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 5 times

fuses/circuit breakers

#1

Post by itsRICH » Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:00 pm

Im building a panhead kit bike from CCI, 88" pandemonium, 4 speed kicker, electric ignition, and simple electronics i.e. horn, turn signals,headlight/tail light lights on the dash all 12V, I currently dont have nay fuses or circuit breakers wired into it. iver heard you should put a 30A on the ground line to the frame from the batt. Im pretty good with wiring, i wired the whole thing my self, no aftermarket wiring harness. What would you guys recommend?



1962FLH
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:13 pm
Bikes: 1945EL project
1962FLH
1974FLH
Location: Central Texas
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#2

Post by 1962FLH » Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:15 pm

I use a 30 amp circuit breaker at the battery Positive however puting it on the ground wire will work just as good. its a sipmle instalation and easy to check if it goes bad.

itsRICH
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:55 am
Bikes: 1948 Panhead chopper kit bike
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#3

Post by itsRICH » Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:25 pm

ok, i use a 4 guage for my pos/grnd wires and the fuse ive got is a 10 guage, is your similars sizes? if so, how would you splice that? and pics would help also

1962FLH
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:13 pm
Bikes: 1945EL project
1962FLH
1974FLH
Location: Central Texas
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#4

Post by 1962FLH » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:12 pm

I use 10 gauge copper wire and crimp a ring termanal on the end. Amp rating is 30 amps on 10 gauge wire and I have no problems with it.

itsRICH
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:55 am
Bikes: 1948 Panhead chopper kit bike
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#5

Post by itsRICH » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:41 pm

SO your only using 10g for the poss to the igintion and on the ground?, I was told by a buddy to use 4g, which seems way to big to me, but i used it anyways

1962FLH
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:13 pm
Bikes: 1945EL project
1962FLH
1974FLH
Location: Central Texas
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#6

Post by 1962FLH » Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:07 pm

4 gauge will work with ampacity to spare. I am sending a pic I hope it goes through.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

john HD
Moderator
Posts: 3676
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 7:24 pm
Bikes: '42 WLA X 2, '55FL, '93 Ultra Classic, '91 Fatboy, '97 883, '71 Suzuki Duster 125, '83 GPz 750.
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#7

Post by john HD » Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:11 pm

size your wire according to your breaker size, just like you would do in your house.

30 amp will work fine with 10ga. wire.

john

itsRICH
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:55 am
Bikes: 1948 Panhead chopper kit bike
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#8

Post by itsRICH » Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:26 am

thanks john, that helps a lot! that 4g is hard to mess with, and I just got my dash panel on from JP had to move my wiring harness bak further towards the front, my tanks were spread to far apart, deffinately need that 10g now to make it work/look good, will be changing that out this weekend. thanks for the pix!

Scrap
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:07 am
Bikes: 1957 FL
1980 FLT
74 FXE
2017 road glide
1971 Bonneville
Location: Pawtucket
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#9

Post by Scrap » Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:10 pm

1962FLH wrote:4 gauge will work with ampacity to spare. I am sending a pic I hope it goes through.
Do you mean 14 gauge?

1962FLH
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 3:13 pm
Bikes: 1945EL project
1962FLH
1974FLH
Location: Central Texas
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#10

Post by 1962FLH » Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:55 am

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

Postby 1962FLH » Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:15 pm

I use a 30 amp circuit breaker at the battery Positive however puting it on the ground wire will work just as good. its a sipmle instalation and easy to check if it goes bad.


Re: fuses/circuit breakers

Post by 1962FLH » Thu Sep 12, 2013 3:12 pm

I use 10 gauge copper wire and crimp a ring termanal on the end. Amp rating is 30 amps on 10 gauge wire and I have no problems with it.

And yes I use 14 Gauge for wiring the rest of the bike

itsRICH
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:55 am
Bikes: 1948 Panhead chopper kit bike
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#11

Post by itsRICH » Sat Sep 14, 2013 3:59 am

nope its 4 gauge I use from the hot on the bat to the ignition and ground to the frame. rest of the bike is 20 and 18 gauge. I now see that 4 gauge was excessive

58flh
Posts: 3340
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:54 pm
Bikes: 1958flh 1969sporty,had a knuckle but sold back to original owner
Location: NEW JERSEY
Has thanked: 195 times
Been thanked: 259 times

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#12

Post by 58flh » Sat Sep 14, 2013 11:42 am

Im not running stock wiring & I run a 30amp on the positive side!---RICHIE

Scrap
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:07 am
Bikes: 1957 FL
1980 FLT
74 FXE
2017 road glide
1971 Bonneville
Location: Pawtucket
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#13

Post by Scrap » Sat Sep 14, 2013 1:20 pm

itsRICH wrote:nope its 4 gauge I use from the hot on the bat to the ignition and ground to the frame. rest of the bike is 20 and 18 gauge. I now see that 4 gauge was excessive
Just curious, how do you connect 4 gauge to your ignition switch? That's like the size of the battery cables on my truck. Well, according to her, it's never too big.

itsRICH
Posts: 186
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:55 am
Bikes: 1948 Panhead chopper kit bike
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#14

Post by itsRICH » Sat Sep 14, 2013 4:39 pm

it took some work, but was pretty easy, routing the cable with the bends to work was a pain, I used a 4 guage batter terminal (copper) from autozone, had to trim the edges down around it to kida make it square so it would sit flush with the swtich, also had to bend the tabs/guards on the switch terminal to accept it, and then uses a shim from the iginition switch to hold the wires terminal down. It worked pretty good, didn't ride her too much with it on or very far, but its heavy duty stuff


If you cant tell which wire it is, its the big one that has electrical tape on it
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RUBONE
Moderator
Posts: 5047
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 4:09 am
Bikes: Multiple H-D, Ducati, BMW, Triumph, BSA,...
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 486 times

Re: fuses/circuit breakers

#15

Post by RUBONE » Sat Sep 14, 2013 5:42 pm

Gotta be one of the odder things I've seen in a while. Even H-D never used anything heavier than 14Ga from the breaker to the dash. The only truly heavy cables were the starter cables on an e-start bike. Way overkill for zero gain. There is never a 30 amp continuous load on anything in that system and sizing wire for that is not needed.. Momentary load will pop the breaker if there is a direct short.

Post Reply

Return to “Electrical”