How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

Electrical issues
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
Post Reply
51Hog
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:29 pm
Bikes: 1951 Fl
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#1

Post by 51Hog » Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:49 pm

I am sure this has been covered before but cannot find it with the search function.
I am converting my 6v 32e from 3 to 2 brush.
New armature and field coils along with all new interior parts.

How many amps can I expect the Generator to safely put out before it wants to start melting down?
I would like to run my headlight and parking lights.
Dale



panhead
Site Admin
Posts: 2571
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2001 9:17 pm
Bikes: 1954 FL
Location: Holland
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#2

Post by panhead » Fri Feb 13, 2009 10:35 pm


51Hog
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:29 pm
Bikes: 1951 Fl
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#3

Post by 51Hog » Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:09 pm

Thanks Panhead---
I had already found and read those posts but they do not answer the question.
Dale

FlatHeadSix
Moderator
Posts: 2685
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:14 pm
Bikes: '31 VL, '34 VD, '45 WLA, '47 WL, '49 FL, '51 WL, '58 ST (Hummer), '71 GE (Servi)
Location: Lonoke, Arkansas
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#4

Post by FlatHeadSix » Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:34 pm

Dale,
After the conversion you should have a unit that simulates the model 32E2R 2-brush generator. The best information I've ever seen for the charging systems used before 1952 is in the old knucklehead service manual for the 1940-1947 bikes. The max charge rate for an externaly regulated 2-brush is 11 to 12 amps over the ignition only load (no lights). I'm not sure if this specification is for a plain generator or one with the cooling fan attached to the brush end of the unit. I had to shrink the page to get it to attach, I'll try to get a full size version in the knowledge base and put in a link to it. If I get time I'll put the whole in there, pretty good information.

mike
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

51Hog
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:29 pm
Bikes: 1951 Fl
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#5

Post by 51Hog » Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:47 pm

I even checked Palmers and I did not see where he talks about the amperage output.

Frankenstein
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 2:14 pm
Bikes: 37ULH,46UL,47EL(80"),65FL,61KH-WL-BSA hybrid,56square4,several 50's BSA 500 singles
Location: Interlaken, NY
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#6

Post by Frankenstein » Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:54 am

A plain ole 32E will do about 10 amps as a 2 brush. The 32E2R is a different animal than a 32E or a Fan cooled unit. The active part of the armature is as long as the fan unit, which is longer than the 32E. I've got one I'm playing with. I'm going to regulate it at 12 volts and see if I can get it to run a 150watt halogen bulb. I can only get my 32E to do a 100w bulb now. If you see smoke on the eastern Horizon this Spring, you'll know what it was :lol:
DD

51Hog
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:29 pm
Bikes: 1951 Fl
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#7

Post by 51Hog » Sat Feb 14, 2009 2:13 am

Frankenstein wrote:32E to do a 100w bulb now. If you see smoke on the eastern Horizon this Spring, you'll know what it was :lol:
DD
Is that 100 watts for extended periods? I will be watching towards the south east for smoke on the horizon....LOL
So I should be able to run a 55 watt head light with a tail light and 4 markers all day with no problems?
Dale

Frankenstein
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 2:14 pm
Bikes: 37ULH,46UL,47EL(80"),65FL,61KH-WL-BSA hybrid,56square4,several 50's BSA 500 singles
Location: Interlaken, NY
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#8

Post by Frankenstein » Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:17 am

Here's the unvarnished truth on converting the 32E to 12 volts. I can run the 100W bulb continuously cruising down the road. In town, I keep it on low beam, 50w. The generator can't quite keep up at idling speeds in town. I just pass through towns, not spend all my time in them, so this hasn't been a problem. And who runs hi beam in town anyway. I would guess from 40-45mph up, the generator is keeping up with the headlight.
My other thoughts on upgrading lighting is going to HID. The price is coming down to around $100-150 for a high-low unit. The gain with HID is more efficiency, more light out front for the same or less watts..
Stay tuned..
By the way,I just read the links about 3 brush to 2 brush conversion, the easiest way to do so is just to substitute 65A fields for the 3 brush fields, and do away with the 3rd brush.
DD

51Hog
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:29 pm
Bikes: 1951 Fl
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#9

Post by 51Hog » Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:31 am

I am not planning on going 12 volts.
Just dropping the third brush and using the three brush field coils. and staying 6v.
What are the vibrations going to do to the HID lights?

panhead
Site Admin
Posts: 2571
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2001 9:17 pm
Bikes: 1954 FL
Location: Holland
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#10

Post by panhead » Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:41 am

From FlatHeadSix:

viewtopic.php?f=73&t=5084

john HD
Moderator
Posts: 3679
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 7:24 pm
Bikes: '42 WLA X 2, '55FL, '93 Ultra Classic, '91 Fatboy, '97 883, '71 Suzuki Duster 125, '83 GPz 750.
Has thanked: 52 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#11

Post by john HD » Sun Feb 15, 2009 1:13 pm

dale

when you get all of your stuff installed on the bike it might not be a bad idea to run a ammeter for a while to see exactly how much current your generator is producing.

i use a cheapie from napa with a simple bracket that i zip tie to the frame or somewhere else that is handy.

john

ps, i survived my bday, your stuff will be on the way shortly...

Frankenstein
Posts: 382
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 2:14 pm
Bikes: 37ULH,46UL,47EL(80"),65FL,61KH-WL-BSA hybrid,56square4,several 50's BSA 500 singles
Location: Interlaken, NY
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#12

Post by Frankenstein » Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:45 pm

Interesting comment on HID, I hadn't considered vibration, Not that my bikes vibrate :lol: Cars shake some, from the road imperfections. I'll do some web surfin, see what I find out.
Also, Just picked up another junker fan genny on ebay, minus fan shrouds. If any of you gents know of where a fella might find a cheap fan shroud, let me know.
DD

51Hog
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:29 pm
Bikes: 1951 Fl
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#13

Post by 51Hog » Mon Feb 16, 2009 6:44 am

Well----I have decided that I am now going to go to 12v.
Going to get a Cycle electric Generator and Hopefully a regulator.
Going to start a new thread titled Pros and cons of 12v vs 6v.
Thanks for all of the help and pionters. I will explain my reasons on the new thread.
Dale

Hauula Pan
Posts: 402
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:15 am
Bikes: 1952 FL
Location: California
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#14

Post by Hauula Pan » Mon Feb 16, 2009 7:06 pm

OK I just don't get it, Why drop the 3rd brush and all that? What's wrong with a good three brush system? I've been running mine for almost 30 years and it works just fine, and it worked for almost 30 years before I got it. Simple, reliable, 3 component system, Battery - Gen - Relay, Not much to go wrong there. (If it ain't broke - it don't need fixin).

51Hog
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 7:29 pm
Bikes: 1951 Fl
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How many amps can a 6v 2 brush 32e safely put out?

#15

Post by 51Hog » Mon Feb 16, 2009 7:23 pm

Hauula,
There is nothing wrong with the 3 brush system if it serves your purposes.
Even all of the books state that if you run highway speeds with your lights on, that your battery will go dead.
The 3 brush were designed for slower roads.
My three brush has worked wonderfully for 45 years that I know of.----For the application that it was intended----Slow speed minimal amperage.

Dropping the third brush makes it so the generator can charge better at higher rpm.

12v is the same 3 component system. Just different voltage.
Dale

Post Reply

Return to “Electrical”