Electrical issues: high voltage regulator

Electrical issues
Forum rules
Please do not start new topics here, but here: New Panhead and Flathead topics
ells_panhead

Electrical issues: high voltage regulator

Post by ells_panhead » Sun Jan 16, 2005 3:43 am

Hello to everyone.
I actually registered a couple of years ago, but due to things beyond my control here I am. I have a 65 FLH, Cycle Electric generator with built in regulator. I just had my bike shipped from the states to me in South Korea (I am A US Soldier). On the first ride with the lights on the bike started to cut out and then died. I kicked it over and ran with no lights. I check the Cycle Electrics website and tried their voltage check (with the B terminal disconnected) and the voltage was about 16.50 volts while running (this is ok according to CE). The battery while running was at just under 12 volts and when I turned the lights on it went down to 7.00 volts (continuing to go down). There are two of what I think relays under the battery box? Other than tearing apart and tracing wires, what can or should I do?
I read the threads when I can because I have learned so much about my pan,
Thank You

Andy

mbskeam

Re: Electrical issues

Post by mbskeam » Sun Jan 16, 2005 5:13 am

hello,
I think it's your reg. mine did the same thing few years ago. it was a CE reg. I called them and they took it back as it was still under warranty.
To test the gen I hooked up a spare reg from my 60 caddy this way I was able to check voltage output from the it.
it now has a electric franks on it . with the CE as a spare.
the thing that I think that kills these electronic regs is when you start messin with the electrics it can fry them. So I now have a spade connector at the reg, that I unhook when I have do electrical work.
how old is your setup if it is under 2 years it should be under warranty.
mbskeam

O..... by the way thanks, I dont know what the army motto is but...... SEMPERFI

ells_panhead