Electric start, thoughts about it

AussieJohn

Electric start, thoughts about it

Post by AussieJohn » Sat Jun 19, 2004 8:57 am

I've got a chopped 57 Pan with original 57 straight-leg rigid frame and 4-speed transmission. Converted to a 12v system a while ago. This is my third chopped Pan since I started riding (chopped..heh heh!) Pans some 30+ years ago! As gas quality here in Oz seems to be getting worse and more variable, and I keep getting older, it takes a lot more serious effort kicking the chop over to get her to fire up each time. Hmmm. She runs sweet as sweet once she's fired up and she will start eventually. Its the unpredictability of the kick-start that is a pain when you're on the road in some of our more remote areas of Oz.
I've seen this electric start kit for Pans from Tech cycles (http://www.techcycle.com/panheadkit.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;).. that bolts directly onto the trans mounting plate and I'd like to know if any of us have got one/seen one/ thought about it and followed it up/or know anybody who has put one onto a 4 speed Pan? I figure one good whirr of the starter and the chop would kick over every time! heh heh!.Thoughts appreciated.

Aussie John.

57stroker

Re: Electric start

Post by 57stroker » Sun Jun 20, 2004 5:02 pm

Aussies on Pans? Now that's a scary thought!!!!! Is there many over there?

AussieJohn

Post by AussieJohn » Mon Jun 21, 2004 2:16 am

No worries mate, there are a good number of Pans left from the day in Oz. Most of us grew up on WLs (called Wallas over here) then moved onto Pans. Nicest way I can put it is we mostly had American or British iron in Oz after the Aussie involvement in the war in the Pacific.