S&S Super B with a popping problem

S&S carburetor isues
52EL

S&S Super B with a popping problem

Post by 52EL » Fri Jan 23, 2009 2:38 pm

I have a 52pan with a popping problem. First the top end has been redone to .040 over recently. the timing and circut breaker gap is on the money. It starts easy enough, but when it fires i have to shut the enhancer down immediatly or it will foul the plugs. It will idle fine and after it is warmed up it has good power through first and second gear. When you hit third it pop back through the carb when you go to fourth it calms down but every now and then it will pop. I'm leaning towards an air leak in the throttle shaft or possibly a intermidiate re jetting to next larger size. any ideas? I have checked the manifold and feel confident there is no leak there I sprayed carb cleaner around the seal and also into the throttle bushing but the engine does not change rpm's regardless i think i should redo the carb with a rebuild kit i have no knowledge of its past and i couldn't hurt. thanks for any info .......52EL

Post by Sidecar on Oct 16, 2003, 4:19pm

I had a similar "popping" problem stuffing too much fuel into the bike, in the mid range, with an E. It would happen when upshifting into 3rd and 4th.
I think you have some other problems though.
Bring on the carb guru !!!!I'm not a S&S Super B guru, but....

Post by Cotten on Oct 18, 2003, 12:34pm

I used to run a B many years ago, but don't consider myself an expert on them. (I do vintage units for a living.)
Frankly, I don't think much of barnyard carbcleaner leak testing. You could still have a manifold leak, as a tiny one could result in your popping, yet escape the douche.