12V Reproduction coil experience?

All ignition related articles
Kuda

12V Reproduction coil experience?

Post by Kuda » Mon Dec 01, 2008 3:42 pm

I'm in the process of going back to the stock timer and was considering using the reproduction 12 V coil that's out there (probably V-twin). I'm considering it mainly for looks but I'm very worried about reliability as I take a lot of long road trips on this bike and really don't want to get stranded somewhere. That said, a coil's a coil, if they're built right it should last. So I'm looking for anyone that's actually used one: how long (miles/years) and what your experience has been. Thanks!

-Kuda
'49 panchop

Cotten

Re: 12V Reproduction coil experience?

Post by Cotten » Mon Dec 01, 2008 3:54 pm

Kuda!

They are "decent".

The only bad one that I remember was dead right out of the box.

....Cotten

Ohio-Rider

Post by Ohio-Rider » Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:42 pm

I've been using one of V-Twins for four years and about 15k miles. It's still working just fine for me. I have heard about them going bad on a few people though. Put your money down and take your chances.

pan50head
Bikes: 1950 FL

Post by pan50head » Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:57 am

I hate to sound negative, but after converting to 12 volts on my 50 FL, I burned through at least 3 V-Twin 12 volt coils in no time. I ride long distances and I had to carry a spare to use when the one on the bike crapped out. If the coil gets wet by washing or rain, chances are it won't work for several days. A cure is to silicone the joints.

The other problem is that it has the wrong ohmage. I can't remember all of the specs, but an electronic ignition is supposed to have a 3 ohm coil and a points ignition is supposed to have a 4.5 or 5 ohm coil. The 12 volt coils from V-Twin have about 3.5 ohms. We talked to V-Twin about this and they claim that the coils are made to specs. Not so.