Circuit braker dont have an alignment mark

All ignition related articles
Post Reply
64 pan
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:31 pm
Bikes: 64 pan,78 shovel
Location: phoenix az

Circuit braker dont have an alignment mark

#1

Post by 64 pan » Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:52 am

my circut braker cam dont have an alignment mark on it
its a single point auto advance how do i align on whitch lobeand do i put the line in middle of hole or the back
my base plate has no mark either



Cotten
Posts: 6791
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 9:09 am
Location: Central Illinois

Re: circut braker

#2

Post by Cotten » Fri Jul 03, 2009 12:59 pm

64Pan!

My guess is that you have an aftermarket timer that uses Shovelhead points cam.
The mark on earlier cams pointed toward the "breaking edge" of the narrow lobe, for the front cylinder. Once you distinguish the difference from the wide lobe on yours, you can follow the usual procedure discussed elsewhere on this forum. Instead of working a control cable, you will have to twist the points cam with your fingers, or a pair of hemostats.

....Cotten

Post Reply

Return to “Ignition”