Problems with attachments solved: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=17433

circuit braker

All ignition related articles
Post Reply
64 pan
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:31 pm
Bikes: 64 pan,78 shovel
Location: phoenix az

circuit braker

#1

Post by 64 pan » Sun Nov 29, 2009 5:36 am

i think i want a new circuit braker for my 64 pan pretty much stock 30 over pistons stainless valves 12 volt any sugestions kinda like the old school man advance



Cotten
Posts: 6911
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 9:09 am
Location: Central Illinois

Re: circuit braker

#2

Post by Cotten » Sun Nov 29, 2009 2:12 pm

64 pan!

Your machine should already have a manual advance circuitbreaker from the factory.

Perhaps you have an auto-advance timer now, that functions poorly?

Does your machine have a control grip on the handlebar opposite the throttle?

....Cotten

64 pan
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:31 pm
Bikes: 64 pan,78 shovel
Location: phoenix az

Re: circuit braker

#3

Post by 64 pan » Sun Nov 29, 2009 3:18 pm

yes already hav a cheep aftermarket breaker i think is not workin right

Cotten
Posts: 6911
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 9:09 am
Location: Central Illinois

Re: circuit braker

#4

Post by Cotten » Sun Nov 29, 2009 3:28 pm

64 pan!

I asked about the hand control because it is a major part of a manual advance assembly.

The crappy modern auto-advances with Chubblehead points cams can be made to work. Have you used a strobe to dial it in?
(If so, was the "picture" of the line clear and crisp, or did it seem like there were phantom lines to one side?)

....Cotten

64 pan
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:31 pm
Bikes: 64 pan,78 shovel
Location: phoenix az

Re: circuit braker

#5

Post by 64 pan » Mon Nov 30, 2009 3:34 pm

tride to strpbe it never got the line to come up got it so far out of wack i wanted to scrap the hole bike went got new points and condencsr started over and got it back runnin i know i gotta stop messin with multiple componets at same time i think i have the hand control and the 6 volt timmerin a box that came with the bike need to look

awander
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 1164
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:03 am
Bikes: '52 FL
'64 FLH

Re: circuit braker

#6

Post by awander » Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:04 pm

The "6V timer" that you think you have is not really a "6V" timer. It is just a timer.

It will work fine on 12V.

NightShift
Posts: 532
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:20 pm
Bikes: Two Schwinns, a Hercules, and a Hiawatha
Location: Underground in Illinois

Re: circuit braker

#7

Post by NightShift » Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:53 pm

Psst... Andy...
'64 circuitbreakers had dual points. Are you sure they make dual coils in 12v?

Somebody should,

awander
Site sponsor
Site sponsor
Posts: 1164
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 3:03 am
Bikes: '52 FL
'64 FLH

Re: circuit braker

#8

Post by awander » Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:28 pm

If no "dual" coils are avilable in 12V, why not just use 2 coils?

Panacea
Posts: 1857
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 1:00 am
Bikes: 64FL 99FLHR 01FXSTD
Location: Mpls. MN.

Re: circuit braker

#9

Post by Panacea » Wed Dec 02, 2009 12:01 am

Curiosity question, on the dual points, how did HD have them set up to hit only the front or rear lobe on the breaker cam? one high, one low?...Mike

Cotten
Posts: 6911
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2002 9:09 am
Location: Central Illinois

Re: circuit braker

#10

Post by Cotten » Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:02 am

Mike!

Its simpler than that.

Instead of two lobes on the cam, theres only one.
So there is a set of points for each cylinder that open at different times, independently adjustable, kinda.

True single fire.

H-D's best ignition ever.

....Cotten

Post Reply

Return to “Ignition”