Create your own blog: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=17487

Extended forks

Information on forks/springers/shocks
OldHippie

Extended forks

Post by OldHippie » Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:02 am

Hey, folks, I have a question I'm sure one of you can knock off easy: I have extended forks on the '57 pan I just bought, about 12" over or so (I haven't actually measured them yet). The seller told me he thought the fork oil might be a bit light. Sure enough, these forks feel pretty soft.
Any recommendations on what weight of fork oil I should use to get a bit more firmness without losing what little suspension I have? Thanks in advance for any suggestions....

dj

Re: Extended forks

Post by dj » Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:21 pm

I'm no expert my any means, but if fork oil comes in different grades, you should try perhaps the mid-heavier choice. If it were me, I'd put shorter tubes on it.....provided it doesn't have a radical rake or something, but everybody has their own taste in fork lengths.
Is the bike running? Does it have a stock or custom frame? What size front wheel?

DJ

Billy

Post by Billy » Wed Mar 09, 2005 6:06 am

OldHippie, Fork oil comes in many grades.
Depending on brand. I would go with a 20 wt. & see how that feels. The heaviest is 30 wt.
20 wt. is an excellent grade for average conditions..
Sounds like a nice 57 !!!
Hope this helps..

OldHippie

Post by OldHippie » Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:51 am

Thanks for the advice, folks. Yes, it's running, and pretty well at that. That's why I know that the seller was right about the fork oil needing to be a bit 'stiffer'. I'll try the mid-weight oil and go from there.